*All of the posts in this category will be my thoughts based on the book “Public Relations Writing and Media Techniques” by Dennis L. Wilcox.

Maybe it’s just me, but when I began studying public relations 3 years ago I had no idea how much my writing skills were a factor in my success. Luckily, I was born with what my father kindly puts, “a colorful mind.” I can use my creativity to set myself apart from others. Creative writing and unique style is essential to public relations.

 

"Countless client surveys and interviews with PR employers confirm that good writing is at the top of their list of expectations" -Wilcox

 

Wilcox talks about how vital AP style is to form proper technique and delivery. This is something that I will continue to practice until I master it.

It is no surprise that the media has drastically changed over the years. Google, Yahoo!, and MSN are vital to my research. Not only can I find credible information in seconds, but I have access to full-text articles and information I would not be able to find otherwise.

 

Google is the most widely used search engine.

 

With tools such as search engines, I have the ability to do extensive research for my clients. In a crisis situation, all I would have to do is pull up saved background information and research new data. Research is 25% of the public relations process. Without the Internet, I would not be able to cater to my clients as effectively.

